Knitting and 10 months old!

Cadan is 10 months old. Life is great, he keeps me busy getting into mischief, crawling into the shower fully dressed to splash in the left over water, looking in every cupboard, leaving a trail of random things behind him, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. He has 3 teeth, nearly 4. He’s standing on his own for longer and longer every day and is such a quick crawler now.

He has recently gotten really cuddly which makes me so happy. He never used to be at all but he started getting cuddly when he wanted a feed and must have decided that snuggles are pretty nice, now he cuddles up and puts his face up to mine all the time, it’s so sweet. Around the same time he went from smiling at anyone he saw to being more cautious and shy, I think he got to an age where he noticed a bit more that we’re his family and others are strangers so it’s a bit of a shame he doesn’t give everyone such big smiles but at the same time it makes me feel so special that he saves them for us.

Lately we have been going to the library singing group and a play group to make some friends. We both enjoy them so much but life is seeming extra busy now that we’re going to them on top of doing our usual things on my days off work.

I’ve been really enjoying some knitting pod casts and finally i’m back to having constant knitting projects on the go. I got put off because I had some moths chew through lots of my knits that i’d put so much time and love into. Now that i’m enjoying knitting again i’ve gotten serious about looking after my woolens and yarn stash. I washed every bit of woolen clothing, blankets, toys etc. and have put all the things we don’t use regularly into zip lock bags and am also putting them in the freezer. Fingers crossed we have no more moths, but if not it will at least slow them down a lot and protect most of them, especially over the summer and baby things that will be in storage.

Today I received my birthday wool order! I got 2 sock wools, 9 skeins of blank wool to be dyed and some bits and pieces like sock blockers and a lint shaver which i’ve been meaning to buy for years. I can’t wait to tidy up many a lint ball with it!

I already dyed my wool. I regreted starting at 7pm! It took a long time when I was tired but I just couldn’t help myself and it was worth it to see it all dyed. Now it’s drying by the heater. Fingers crossed It’s dry to wind into skeins tomorrow. I can’t wait to show cadan the ball winder and swift, I know he’s going to love watching it

The dyed wool is going to become a blue blanket for Cadan’s birthday and a yellow jumper and matching hat. It seems silly to get wool for my birthday and then knit it into birthday presents for him but of course I will get enjoyment out of knitting it and putting it on him, probably much more then him really anyway. I already have some sweet birthday photos planned for them so lets hope I can knit it all in time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

